Dillagi (1999)

October 17, 2009 at 10:36 pm 2 comments

Directed by: Sunny Deol (also producer)

Starring: Sunny Deol, Bobby Deol, Urmila Matondkar

First off, this was Sunny Deol’s first stint in directing. It was also a box-office flop. That’s two facts you’ll find out about this movie in just about every source that refers to it. Other than that, there’s nothing else really interesting to say about it production-wise. Now as for the story, not the most original plot I’ve ever come across. Two brothers on opposite sides of the spectrum end up falling for the same girl, and loyalties are tested. I’ve seen this plot done well, and I’ve seen it done poorly. But how does Dillagi carry it out?

A man sets off with his family to make his fortune in Mumbai, leaving his land in the hands of a close friend. Everything goes well for the first two minutes. They start a restaurant/inn, they’re happy, they go to the beach…then Kiran, the mother collapses and five seconds later we find out that she’s got cancer. Five more seconds, and she tells her young son Ranvir (as an adult, he’s portrayed by Sunny Deol) to take care of his little brother, Rocky (aka Rajvir. As an adult, portrayed by Bobby Deol.) Five seconds later…she’s dead. And all this happens in the first 10 minutes of the movie.vlcsnap-164638

The family business expands, and the boys grow up. Ranvir has become an upstanding and hard-working young man…while his younger brother, Rocky…is…well, not. This is illustrated by a really long motorcycle sequence to ground in the fact that Rocky is a dare-devil party-boy. There’s also a little bit where we see the cool side of Ranvir as he beats the tar out of several men trying to steal television sets from his hotel…who knew hotel owners were so manly?

Afterwards…he gives his security staff a stern talking to. At least…I assume it’s stern. I mean…he’s frowning when he says it. I miss half of the dialogue in this film, because I believe the translator who wrote the subtitles might have been sleeping on the job.vlcsnap-173820

A fair warning…the director…that’s Sunny…seems to have thought it would be a good idea to turn every mundane task into an action-packed adventure. So be ready for excessive use of over-the-top background music. Later on, stuck in traffic…Ranvir spots the love of his life (Shalini, played by Urmila Matondkar) walking by. You can tell because she’s walking in slow-motion, and there’s a theme song.

After Ranvir has his fit, apologizes to his staff, goes home, and gets up in the morning (I’m assuming he got up) he goes to an inauguration with his father…and of course, Rocky shows up late. And then we get a cute musical number.vlcsnap-184624

Afterwards, Ranvir further spoils his brother by giving him a new car…and Rajvir goes to party at a night club. I do find it somewhat offensive that all the girls Rajvir dances with/sleeps with/parties with are white. Yep. White women sure are tramps, that’s why they’re always hanging out with Rajvir. This proves a point that Rajvir is a bad boy, right?

…Afterwards, we get another musical number (a freakish mutation of several famous English songs/tunes mixed into Hindi lyrics. The most easily identifiable songs I picked out were ‘Does Your Mother Know’ and ‘Mony Mony’.) It is at this point that I realized this film…is bad. And not bad in the way that makes you angry…thus stimulating some sort of emotion, thus productive in a way. It’s just…bad…I’ll save you the trouble and tell you that Shalini (the girl who Ranvir saw earlier and was enchanted by) ends up falling for Rajvir. But it doesn’t end there! This happens after the first half hour…but if you really want to find out what else happens…if you couldn’t already predict the ending…then please, by all means, watch it yourself.
This movie…was BAD…and I mean really bad…that I can not even begin to comprehend why Sunny produced…directed…acted in it…and even convinced his brother to join in. I’ll give it 1 out of 10 bindis. And I’m only giving it 1 at all because I kind of liked the first song. Now if you’ll excuse me, I am now going to bang my head against a wall and cry myself to sleep over the 3 HOURS I wasted watching this.

Entry filed under: Film Reviews, Hindi, Languages, Under 5 Bindis. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , .

Sadma (1983) Mrityudand (1997)

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Ruhina  |  January 27, 2010 at 6:42 am

    LOL! I wanted to watch it because it just started on TV and I had nothing else to do.. but thought I’d look in here first.. Thank you for this review.. now I shall go and bake some cookies, thereby saving myself the search for a head-bangable wall later on :))

    Reply
    • 2. ranranami  |  January 27, 2010 at 6:56 am

      Then my mission has been accomplished.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 156 other followers

Categories


